Voyage report of the 1st Seepost Hamburg - New York and New York - Hamburg aboard the steamer Albert Ballin (January 16 - February 15, 1925).

(After an original in the archives of the Postal Museum at Stephansplatz)
Hamburg, February 18, 1925
I. Departure:
1.) Seapost staff: Oberpostinspektor Dahlke, Postinspektor Zahn, Postassistent Neugebauer.
 
2.) Course of the trip:
Departure of the special train from Hamburg     16.1., 7.50 Uhr
Arv Cuxhaven     16.1., 10.08 Uhr
Departure of the steamer from Cuxhaven     16.1., 5.00 Uhr (6 Hours
      delay due to fog)
Arv Boulogne     17.1., 9.15 Uhr
Dep Boulogne     17.1., 10.30 Uhr
Arv Southampton     18.1., 5.30 Uhr
Dep Southampton     18.1., 3.00 Uhr (8 Hours
      delay due to fog)
Arv New York Quarantine     27.1., 7.00 Uhr
- Delivery of mail to the mail boat -.
At quay on 46th St.: 11:01 Uhr (landing of passengers). Duration of the crossing from Cuxhaven to New York until delivery of the mail
(16. 1., 5.00 Uhr to 27. 1, 7.00 Uhr)   10 Days 14 Hours
Plus time difference     6 Hours
    Total 10 Days 14 Hours
Reason for delay: fog (see above) and heavy weather on 6 days.
 
3.) Receipt of mail:
a) in Hamburg on 15. 1. Total Germany foreign countries
Parcel post 493 Sack 271 Sack 222 Sack
Letter mail 1 085 Sack 786 Sack 299 Sack
  1 578 Sack 1 057 Sack 521 Sack
b) in Cuxhaven Letter mail 587 Sack 464 Sack 123 Sack
(from the early trains 50 Sack)
c) in Boulogne Letter mail 7 Sack 7 Sack -----
d) in Southampton Letter mail 1 Sack ----- 1 Sack
Total 2 173 Sack 1 528 Sack 645 Sack
Thereof letter mail 1 680 Sack 1 257 Sack 423 Sack
 
4.) Opened and processed by Seapost:
40 sacks of letter mail, 47 sacks of printed matter, a total of 87 sacks.
 
5.) Delivered by the Seapost:
In Boulogne 1 sack for Boulogne
  1 sack for Bp (railroad mail) 10 Herbesthal-Cologne, passenger mail
At Southampton 1 Sack for Southampton
  1 Sack for Bp 10 Herbesthal-Köln
In New York 2,188 sacks (of which made by the Seapost 102 sacks). Acknowledgement by the New York Post Office of the receipt of this mail is available.
 
6.) Number of registered letters processed: 2 010, of which adopted by the Seapost 11 pieces.
 
7.) Proceeds for postage stamps: 1 122,05 M.
 
8.) Working time: 8 hours a day, noting, however, that the preparation for the performance of the new service (compartmentalization of the sorting lockers, sorting of the posts) took much more time than will be the case in the future.
II. Homeward journey:
1.) Seapost staff: In addition to the officials named in I. 1.), the American official Quigley accompanied the Seapost.
 
2.) Course of the trip:
Departure of the steamer from New York     5. 2., 10 Uhr
Arv Cherbourg     14.2., 3.30 Uhr
Dep Cherbourg     14.2., 5.30 Uhr
Arv Southampton     14.2., 11.10 Uhr
Dep Southampton     14.2., 12.15 Uhr
Arv Cuxhaven     15.2., 5.00 Uhr
Dep Cuxhaven     15.2., 6.47 Uhr
(by special train)
Arv Hamburg Hbf.     15.2., 8.47 Uhr
 
Duration of the crossing:   10 Days, 7 Hours
thereof time difference     6 Hours
    total 10 Days, 1 Hour
 
The first days very calm, then moderately agitated sea.
 
3.) Receipt of mail: Full mail for all Europe (last mail dispatch with D. France from New York 4.2. to Le Havre).
a) Parcel post
    1 145 Sack, thereof for France 41 Sack
  Total Germany foreign Countries
b) Letter mail
Letter mail 939 Sack 50 Sack 889 Sack
Printed matter 598 Sack 115 Sack 483 Sack
  1 537 Sack 165 Sack 1 372 Sack
in addition
Parcel post 1 145 Sack    
Total 2 682 Sack.    
 
 
4.) Opened and processed by the mail destined for Germany:
    37 Sack  Letter mail
    93 Sack  Printed matter
  total 130 Sack  
  remanufactured 142 Sack  
 
5.) Delivered by the Seapost:
In Cherbourg   710 Sack  Letter mail, including the urgent mail for Germany
    41 Sack  Parcel post
In Southampton   557 Sack  Letter mail
    460 Sack  Parcel post
In Cuxhaven   282* Sack  Printed matter mail for Germany and the Nordic countries
In Hamburg   644 Sack  Parcel post
    2 694 Sack.  
 
* The mail not destined for Hamburg - Arv. 8:47 Uhr - was still forwarded with the late trains.
 
6.) Number of registered letters processed:
3 196 Stück.
 
7.) Working time: Average daily 81/2 hours, but on the last two days in the Mainly only preparations for the service of the next seapost were made.


III. Service operation in general:

On the way out and home has been worked up. Letter mail to the United States has been processed in the manner customary before the war and also delivered to the mail boat in New York separately for New York DPO and New York Railroads. Registered card closings to the interior of the country, however, have been handled as closed mails on New York DPO because in the past these items had to be closed with special American locks. Letter mail for New York City remained unopened. City mail used to be handled with priority over other mail. According to an information in New York soil now the Dis mail is processed first, so that it does not disturb the New York operation.

On the homeward voyage, letter mail destined for Germany has been processed in accordance with the earlier clearance overviews. In deviation from this, however, the registered mail items were de-carded jointly by the American and a German official (Postal Inspector Zahn), whereupon the items passed into the custody of the German official and were summarily dispatched by him to the German offices. The items were not entered in lists, as was the case before the war, has not taken place, which has saved a great deal of time. The American registered mail lists now remain with the German seaports for possible inquiries. The American registered mail lists now remain with the German Seepostpapiere for possible investigations.

The urgent mail has been dispatched to Cherbourg, the non-urgent mail, in addition to the mail destined for Germany and the Nordic empires, has been rejected in Cuxhaven.

In my experience, urgent letter mail to and from America is now considerably stronger than before the war; namely, registered mail from America has increased many times over. The processing of the mail therefore takes more time than before the war. Seaposts that receive more than one day's mail are therefore staffed with at least four forces (one German, one American official, two German conductors).

The ship's management has shown every courtesy to the seapost and has provided it with the sailors required for untagging, reading, etc., (1-4 men) without delay.

IV. Consultation with the Superintendent of Foreign Mails in New York regarding mail delivery to German seaposts.

The Seapost staff reported to the Superintendent of Foreign Mails in New York at 10 a.m. the day after arrival. The reception was cordial. To my question, asked in the course of the conversation, whether the seapost would receive full mail and would be accompanied by an American official, I was told that the decision on this from Washington was still pending. I was presented with a translation of the letter from the RPM to Washington dated December 3, to which P. M. Gen. It was added that the matter could not yet be clearly overlooked and would therefore have to be examined further. The Superintendent and the other officials present assured me, however, that New York was in favor of the establishment of German-American services. If the approval from Washington was received in time, the official Quigley would accompany the seapost, likewise the steamer would receive the full mail for all of Europe. In the absence of the order, the official would not be able to travel, but the seapost would receive the mail arriving after the departure of the steamer France to Le Havre - from New York 4. 2. - thus a one-day mail for Germany. The remaining mail would have to be given to the steamer Berengaria - from 7. 2. - which would deliver it in Cherbourg and Southampton one day earlier than the steamer Albert Ballin. I declared that I was not satisfied with this and pointed out that with similar schedules, the American seaposts from Hamburg and Bremen always received the full German and foreign mail. It would therefore only be fair play if the seaposts now established in New York were to be supplied to the same extent with all mail for Germany and foreign countries. In the course of the conversation, which was otherwise conducted in English I finally expressed the intention of going to Washington myself in order to ask the responsible gentleman, Mr. Edwin Sands, whom I had known personally in the past, to bring about a decision in the matter, which had been pending for a long time. I received the promise that an American official, who had free travel on all railroads, would go to Washington and provide definitive information. The gentlemen, however, wished to see the sea mail rooms on the steamer Albert Ballin. By agreement with the ship's management, the gentlemen were invited to do so on Jan. 30. The officials were appreciative in every respect of the sea mail rooms, which had been freshly painted in New York. On the other hand, they refused to allow the American officials to occupy the post office cabin provided for two officials, because neither its location within the 2nd class nor its simple furnishings would meet reasonable requirements. It is an outside cabin located on the lowest living deck of 2nd class, which is less comfortably furnished than that of the German conductor. The German official made the same complaint. For myself, the Hamburg-America Line had provided me with a cabin in 1st class. It will be advisable to persuade the Hamburg-America Line to provide a better situated cabin, which would then also have to be equipped like a 1st class cabin. In the following days I repeatedly spoke to the Superintendent of Foreign Mails, but only learned on the day before departure that the two Hamburg steamships would now have joint seaposts and that they would always receive full mail. Before that, I had received the telegraphic inquiry from Washington to the the RPM concerning the manning of American ships with German officials. The Superintendent also mentioned that the steamers Resolute, Reliance, and Cleveland would now also be manned with common seaposts, if the ships would fly the American or even the German flag instead of the Panama flag. For the rest, more details were, under which conditions the joint maritime service would be carried out on German and American ships could not be obtained in New York.

V. Miscellaneous

In order to promote the establishment of joint seaposts, I wrote a small article for the New York newspapers on January 28 in consultation with the New York general representative of the Hamburg-Amerika-Linie, to the effect that the first seapost Hamburg-New York arrived with the steamer Albert Ballin and rejected 2,288 sacks. The German personnel were primarily determined to sort mail for Germany, but in the absence of the American official they also sorted mail to the interior of the United States, etc. The article has appeared in most New York newspapers, though abridged here and there. I enclose the clipping from one newspaper. I also note that the representative of the Hamburg-America Line requested the addition of my name, because the Hamburg-America Line in New York could not yet publish anything that would resemble an extraordinary advertisement.

signed Dahlke, OPI.

Copy

J'l of Commerce Jan. 30. 1925
Operation of the German sea post service from Hamburg on German steamers, which was suspended in 1914, was resumed through the efforts of the Minister of Posts of Germany on the westbound trip of the steamer Albert Ballin, which arrived Tuesday from Hamburg with 2,288 bags of mail. Albert Dahlke chief inspector of the German Postal Service, is in charge of the inauguration of this new facility and heads a staff of three clerks from Hamburg. It is hoped that in the near future American sea post clerks will take charge of the sorting of mail intended for America. The sorting and distribution of mail during the ocean voyage expedites its delivery about twenty-four hours. It is planned to continue this German sea post service from Hamburg on the next sailing on the Deutschland.


Quelle:

"Postgeschichtliche Blätter Hamburg", Issue 31/1988
Note: The Post Museum at Stephansplatz in Hamburg mentioned at the beginning no longer exists since 2009.



Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021

Reisebericht der 1. Seepost Hamburg - New York und New York - Hamburg an Bord des Dampfers Albert Ballin (16. Januar bis 15. Februar 1925).

(Nach einem Original im Archiv des Postmuseums am Stephansplatz)
Hamburg, den 18. Februar 1925
I. Ausreise:
1.) Seepostpersonal: Oberpostinspektor Dahlke, Postinspektor Zahn, Postassistent Neugebauer.
 
2.) Verlauf der Reise:
Abfahrt des Sonderzuges von Hamburg     16.1., 7.50 Uhr
an Cuxhaven     16.1., 10.08 Uhr
Abfahrt des Dampfers ab Cuxhaven     16.1., 5.00 Uhr (6 Stdn.
      Verspätung wegen Nebels)
an Boulogne     17.1., 9.15 Uhr
ab Boulogne     17.1., 10.30 Uhr
an Southampton     18.1., 5.30 Uhr
ab Southampton     18.1., 3.00 Uhr (8 Stdn.
      Verspätung wegen Nebels)
an New York Quarantäne     27.1., 7.00 Uhr
- Übergabe der Post an das Postboot -.
An Kai an der 46. Str.: 11.01 Uhr (Landung der Passagiere). Dauer der Überfahrt von Cuxhaven nach New York bis zur Übergabe der Post
(16. 1., 5.00 Uhr bis 27. 1, 7.00 Uhr)   10 Tage 14 Stunden
dazu Zeitunterschied     6 Stunden
    zusammen 10 Tage 14 Stunden
Grund der Verspätung: Nebel (s. oben) und schweres Wetter an 6 Tagen.
 
3.) Zugang an Post:
a) in Hamburg am 15. 1. Insgesamt Deutschland fremden Ländern
Paketpost 493 Sack 271 Sack 222 Sack
Briefpost 1 085 Sack 786 Sack 299 Sack
  1 578 Sack 1 057 Sack 521 Sack
b) in Cuxhaven Briefpost 587 Sack 464 Sack 123 Sack
(von den Frühzügen 50 Sack)
c) in Boulogne Briefpost 7 Sack 7 Sack -----
d) in Southampton Briefpost 1 Sack ----- 1 Sack
Zusammen 2 173 Sack 1 528 Sack 645 Sack
davon Briefpost 1 680 Sack 1 257 Sack 423 Sack
 
4.) Von der Seepost geöffnet und bearbeitet:
40 Sack Briefpost, 47 Sack Drucksachen, zusammen 87 Sack.
 
5.) Von der Seepost abgewiesen:
In Boulogne 1 Sack für Boulogne
  1 Sack für Bp (Bahnpost) 10 Herbesthal-Köln, Passagierpost
In Southampton 1 Sack für Southampton
  1 Sack für Bp 10 Herbesthal-Köln
In New York 2 188 Sack (davon von der Seepost gefertigt 102 Sack). Anerkenntnis des Postamts New York über den Empfang dieser Post liegt vor.
 
6.) Zahl der bearbeiteten Einschreibbriefe: 2 010, davon von der Seepost angenommen 11 Stück.
 
7.) Erlös für Postwertzeichen: 1 122,05 M.
 
8.) Arbeitszeit: 8 Stunden täglich, dabei jedoch zu bemerken, daß die Vorbereitung für die Ausübung des neuen Dienstes (Facheinteilung der Sortierspinde, das Verlesen der Posten) viel mehr Zeit in Anspruch genommen hat, als es künftig der Fall sein wird.
II. Heimreise:
1.) Seepostpersonal: Außer den unter I. 1.) genannten Beamten hat der amerikanische Beamte Quigley die Seepost begleitet.
 
2.) Verlauf der Reise:
Abfahrt des Dampfers von New York     5. 2., 10 Uhr
an Cherbourg     14.2., 3.30 Uhr
ab Cherbourg     14.2., 5.30 Uhr
an Southampton     14.2., 11.10 Uhr
ab Southampton     14.2., 12.15 Uhr
an Cuxhaven     15.2., 5.00 Uhr
ab Cuxhaven     15.2., 6.47 Uhr
(mit Sonderzug)
an Hamburg Hbf.     15.2., 8.47 Uhr
 
Dauer der Überfahrt:   10 Tage, 7 Stunden
davon ab Zeitunterschied     6 Stunden
    bleiben 10 Tage, 1 Stunde
 
Die ersten Tage sehr ruhig, dann mäßig bewegte See.
 
3.) Zugang an Post: Volle Post für ganz Europa (letzter Postabgang mit D. France ab New York 4.2. nach Le Havre).
a) Paketpost
    1 145 Sack, davon für Frankreich 41 Sack
  Insgesamt Deutschland fremden Ländern
b) Briefpost
Briefe 939 Sack 50 Sack 889 Sack
Drucksachen 598 Sack 115 Sack 483 Sack
  1 537 Sack 165 Sack 1 372 Sack
dazu
Paketpost 1 145 Sack    
Insgesamt 2 682 Sack.    
 
 
4.) Von der für Deutschland bestimmten Briefpost geöffnet und bearbeitet:
    37 Sack  Briefe
    93 Sack  Drucksachen
  zusammen 130 Sack  
  neugefertigt 142 Sack  
 
5.) Von der Seepost abgewiesen:
In Cherbourg   710 Sack  Briefpost, darunter die eilige Post für Deutschland
    41 Sack  Paketpost
In Southampton   557 Sack  Briefpost
    460 Sack  Paketpost
In Cuxhaven   282* Sack  Drucksachenpost für Deutschland und die nordischen Länder
In Hamburg   644 Sack  Paketpost
    2 694 Sack.  
 
* Die nicht für Hamburg bestimmte Post - an 8.47 Uhr - ist noch mit den Spätzügen weitergesandt worden.
 
6.) Zahl der bearbeiteten Einschreibbriefe:
3 196 Stück.
 
7.) Arbeitszeit: Durchschnittlich täglich 81/2 Stunden, doch sind an den beiden letzten Tagen in der Hauptsache nur Vorbereitungen für den Dienst der nächsten Seepost getroffen worden.


III. Dienstbetrieb im Allgemeinen:

Auf der Aus- und Heimreise ist aufgearbeitet worden. Die Briefpost nach den Vereinigten Staaten ist in der vor dem Kriege üblichen Weise bearbeitet und in New York auch getrennt nach New York DPO und New York Eisenbahnen an das Postboot abgeliefert worden. Die Einschreibkartenschlüsse nach dem Innern des Landes sind jedoch als Closed mails auf New York DPO abgefertigt worden, weil früher diese Posten mit besonderen amerikanischen Schlössern zu verschließen waren. Die Briefpost für New York City blieb uneröffnet. Früher ist die City-Post mit Vorrang vor der übrigen Post bearbeitet worden. Nach einer Auskunft in New York soil jetzt die Dis-Post zuerst bearbeitet werden, damit sie nicht den New Yorker Betrieb stört.

Auf der Heimreise ist für Deutschland bestimmte Briefpost nach Maßgabe der früheren Abfertigungsübersichten bearbeitet worden. Abweichend hiervon sind jedoch die Einschreibposten gemeinsam von den amerikanischen und einem deutschen Beamten (Postinspektor Zahn) entkartet worden, worauf die Sendungen in den Gewahrsam des deutschen Beamten übergegangen und von diesem summarisch auf die deutschen Dienststellen abgefertigt worden sind. Eine Eintragung der Sendungen in Listen, wie es vor dem Kriege der Fall war, hat nicht stattgefunden, wodurch viel Zeit gespart worden ist. Die amerikanischen Einschreiblisten verbleiben nunmehr fur etwaige Nachforschungen bei den deutschen Seepostpapieren.

Die eilige Post ist in Cherbourg, die nichteilige Post, und zwar außer der für Deutschland auch die für die nordischen Reiche bestimmte, in Cuxhaven abgewiesen worden.

Nach meinen Erfahrungen ist die eilige Briefpost nach und von Amerika jetzt erheblich stärker als vor dem Kriege; namentlich die Einschreibsendungen aus Amerika haben um das Vielfache zugenommen. Die Bearbeitung der Post nimmt daher mehr Zeit in Anspruch als vor dem Kriege. Seeposten, die mehr als eine eintägige Post erhalten, werden daher mit mindestens vier Kräften (ein deutscher, ein amerikanischer Beamte, zwei deutsche Schaffner) zu besetzen sein.

Die Schiffsleitung hat der Seepost jedes Entgegenkommen gezeigt und dieser die zum Entkarten, Verlesen usw. erforderlichen Matrosen (1-4 Mann) ohne Verzug zur Verfügung gestellt.

IV. Rücksprache mit dem Superintendent of Foreign Mails in New York wegen der Postzuführung an deutsche Seeposten.

Das Seepostpersonal hat sich am Tage nach der Ankunft 10 Uhr vormittags beim Superintendent of Foreign Mails in New York gemeldet. Die Aufnahme war herzlich. Auf meine im Laufe des Gesprächs gestellte Frage, ob die Seepost volle Post erhalten und von einem amerikanischen Beamten begleitet werden würde, wurde mir erwidert, daB hierüber die Entscheidung aus Washington noch ausstehe. Es wurde mir eine Übersetzung des Schreibens des RPM nach Washington vom 3. Dezember vorgelegt, den vom P. M. General nur kurz hinzugefügt war, daß die Sache noch nicht klar übersehen werden könne und daher weiter geprüft werden müßte. Der Superintendent wie auch die weiter anwesenden Beamten versicherten mir aber, daB man in New York für die Einrichtung deutsch-amerikanischer Posten sei. Falls die Zustimmung aus Washington rechtzeitig eingehe, würde der Beamte Quigley die Seepost begleiten, ebenso würde der Dampfer die volle Post für ganz Europa erhalten. Beim Ausbleiben der Verfügung könnte der Beamte nicht mitreisen, doch würde die Seepost die nach Abfahrt des Dampfers France nach Le Havre - ab New York 4. 2. - aufkommende, also eine eintägige Post für Deutschland erhalten. Die übrige Post müßte dem Dampfer Berengaria - ab 7. 2. - mitgegeben werden, der sie einen Tag früher in Cherbourg und Southampton lande, als der Dampfer Albert Ballin. Ich erklärte mich damit nicht zufriedengestellt und wies darauf hin, daß bei ähnlich liegenden Fahrplänen die amerikanischen Seeposten ab Hamburg und Bremen stets die volle deutsche und fremde Post erhielten. Es ware daher nur fair play, wenn den jetzt eingerichteten Seeposten in New York in gleichem Umfang alle Post für Deutschland und fremde Länder zugeführt werden würde. Im Verlauf der weiteren, im übrigen in englischer Sprache geführten Unterredung, äußerte ich schließlich die Absicht, selbst nach Washington zu fahren, um bei dem zuständigen Herrn, dem mir von früher her persönlich bekannten Mr. Edwin Sands, daselbst eine Entscheidung in der nun schon langer Zeit schwebenden Angelegenheit herbeizuführen. Ich erhielt darauf die Zusage, daß ein amerikanischer Beamter, der freie Reisen auf allen Bahnen hatte, nach Washington fahren und endgültig Auskunft einholen würde. Die Herren wünschten vorher jedoch die Seeposträume auf dem Dampfer Albert Ballin zu besichtigen. Im Einverständnis mit der Schiffsleitung sind die Herren auf den 30. 1. hierzu eingeladen worden. Die Beamten haben sich über die Seeposträume, die in New York frisch gestrichen waren, in jeder Beziehung anerkennend ausgesprochen. Dagegen wurde es abgelehnt, den amerikanischen Beamten die für zwei Beamte vorgesehene Postkabine beziehen zu lassen, weil sie weder nach ihrer Lage innerhalb der 2. Klasse, noch ihrer einfachen Ausstattung wegen billigen Anforderungen entspräche. Es handelt sich um eine auf dem untersten Wohndeck 2. Klasse belegene Außenkabine, die weniger wohnlich eingerichtet ist, als die des deutschen Schaffners. Der deutsche Beamte hat die gleiche Klage geführt. Mir selbst hatte die Hamburg-Amerika-Linie eine Kabine in der 1. Klasse zur Verfügung gestellt. Es wird sich empfehlen, die Hamburg-Amerika-Linie zur Hergabe einer besser gelegenen Kabine zu bewegen, die dann auch wie eine solche der 1. Klasse auszustatten wäre. Ich sprach in den folgenden Tagen wiederholt beim Superintendent of Foreign Mails vor, erfuhr aber erst am Tage vor der Abfahrt, daß nunmehr auf den beiden Hamburger Dampfern gemeinsame Seeposten verkehren und diese stets volle Post erhalten würden. Vorher war mir die telegrafische Anfrage aus Washington an das RPM wegen Besetzung amerikanischer Schiffe mit deutschen Beamten mitgeteilt worden. Der Superintendent erwähnte noch, daß nunmehr wohl auch die Dampfer Resolute, Reliance und Cleveland mit gemeinsamen Seeposten besetzt werden würden, wenn die Schiffe statt der Panamaflagge die amerikanische oder auch die deutsche Flagge führen würden. Im übrigen war Näheres darüber, unter welchen Bedingungen der gemeinsame Seepostdienst auf deutschen und amerikanischen Schiffen ausgeführt werden würde, in New York nicht zu erfahren.

V. Sonstiges

Zur Förderung der Einrichtung gemeinsamer Seeposten habe ich am 28. 1. im Benehmen mit dem New Yorker Generalvertreter der Hamburg-Amerika-Linie einen kleinen Artikel für die New Yorker Zeitungen des Inhalts verfaßt, daß die erste Seepost Hamburg-New York mit Dampfer Albert Ballin eingetroffen sei und 2 288 Sack abgewiesen habe. Das deutsche Personal sei in erster Linie zur Bearbeitung der Briefpost nach Deutschland bestimmt, habe aber in Abwesenheit des amerikanischen Beamten auch die Briefpost nach dem Innern der Vereinigten Staaten sortiert usw. Der Artikel ist in den meisten New Yorker Zeitungen, allerdings hier und da verkürzt, erschienen. Den Ausschnitt einer Zeitung füge ich bei. Ich bemerke noch, daß der Vertreter der Hamburg-Amerika-Linie die Hinzufügung meines Namens gefordert hat, weil die Hamburg-Amerika-Linie in New York noch nichts veröffentlichen könnte, was einer außergewöhnlichen Reklame ähnlich sähe.

gez. Dahlke, OPI.

Abschrift

J'l of Commerce Jan. 30. 1925
Operation of the German sea post service from Hamburg on German steamers, which was suspended in 1914, was resumed through the efforts of the Minister of Posts of Germany on the westbound trip of the steamer Albert Ballin, which arrived Tuesday from Hamburg with 2,288 bags of mail. Albert Dahlke chief inspector of the German Postal Service, is in charge of the inauguration of this new facility and heads a staff of three clerks from Hamburg. It is hoped that in the near future American sea post clerks will take charge of the sorting of mail intended for America. The sorting and distribution of mail during the ocean voyage expedites its delivery about twenty-four hours. It is planned to continue this German sea post service from Hamburg on the next sailing on the Deutschland.


Quelle:

"Postgeschichtliche Blätter Hamburg", Heft 31/1988
Anmerkung: Das am Anfang erwähnte Postmuseum am Stephansplatz in Hamburg existiert seit 2009 nicht mehr.



Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021