US Transpacific Seapost

For two reasons, Transpacific Seapost is the most straightforward of the six Seapost Services. When a number was assigned to a ship, that number remained with that ship.The second reason is that from 1926 on, all postmarks contained the name of the ship.
In recent years, there have been disagreements about the start of this service. It is now agreed that the first trip was made by the ship "President Jackson" when it left Seattle for Manila on Nov. 11, 1922, with stops in Yokohama, Kobe, Shanghai and Hong Kong. The other four ships should have started operation in July 1923. However, there is a letter from the ship "President Grant" (Seapost number 2) dated January 16, 1923, which seems to disprove this theory.

All five ships of the "Admiral Oriental Line" used TP1 type postmarks. The letters "RMS" in the killer indicate that this service was under the Railway Mail Service.
The post offices on board the ships were considered domestic post offices.

The History of the U.S. Transpacific Seapost Services

From 1921, the Pacific Steamship Co. (the "Admiral Line"), through its subsidiary "Admiral Oriental Line" (initially also using the "Admiral Line" brand), operated five "535-feet" liners from the U.S. Shipping Board on the Seattle to Far East route. All five ships used the TP1 type stamp, which also included the "East"/"West" direction of travel.
A regular service from San Francisco, using the same route but additionally calling at Honolulu, Hawaii, was operated by the "Pacific Mail Steamship Co." for the U.S. Shipping Board in 1924. These ships used TP2 type stamps with the letters "SF" and numbers from 15 to 23. These also included the direction of travel "East"/"West". This stamp no longer includes the letters "RMS" in the killer, so this service was not subject to railroad mail.

In 1924, both companies were acquired by the Dollar Line, and the Admiral Oriental Line, later renamed the American Mail Line, and became a subsidiary of the "American President Lines" in 1938, when the latter was established to continue the business of the bankrupt "Dollar Line". From the beginning of 1926, regular service was established across the Pacific, with bi-monthly departures alternating between Seattle and San Francisco. In 1941, the service ended with the entry of the USA into the Second World War.
The five ships of the "Admiral Oriental Line" (stamp type TP1)
  • Nr. 1 - President Jsckson
  • Nr. 2 - President Grant
  • Nr. 3 - President Madison
  • Nr. 4 - Prsident McKinley
  • Nr. 5 - Prsident Jefferson
The ships of the "Pacific Mail Steamship Company" (stamp type TP2)
  • Nr. SF 15 - President Monroe (?)
  • Nr. SF 16 - President Cleveland
  • Nr. SF 17 - President Garfield (?)
  • Nr. SF 18 - Prsident Wilson
  • Nr. SF 19 - Prsident Lincoln
  • Nr. SF 20 - President van Buren
  • Nr. SF 21 - President Taft
  • Nr. SF 22 - President Pierce
  • Nr. SF 23 - President Hayes (?)

Source reference:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54 und No 55
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA

Postage due commercial postcard with postmark type TP1 to Cockrill with number 1 in CDS. Postmarked 17. April 1924 aboard the steamer "Pres. Jackson" on her eastbound voyage. Addressed to Manila, Philippine Islands. This postcard is on the back of a menu card.
Back of the demand postcard with menu from the dinner of 13. April 1924 and position of the ship on that day, on the Yangtse Kiang.
Postage paid commercial cover with postmark type TP1 to Cockrill with number 2 in CDS. Postmarked 20 February 1925 aboard the steamer "Pres. Grant" on her way west. Addressed to Tokyo, Japan.
Underfranked commercial cover with postmark type TP1 to Cockrill with number 3 in CDS. Postmarked on October 20, 1925 aboard the steamer "Pres. Madison" on her eastbound voyage. Addressed to Gillingham, England.
Postage paid commercial cover with postmark type TP2 to Cockrill with the number SF 15 in the CDS. Postmarked 17. September 1925 aboard the steamer "Pres. Polk"? on her way west. Name of steamer is on back of letter, but is not a guarantee. Addressed to Chicago, Ill.
Postage due commercial postcard with postmark type TP2 to Cockrill with number SF 16 in CDS. Postmarked on July 28, 1925 aboard the steamer "Pres. Cleveland" on her eastbound voyage. Addressed to Lille, France.
Postage paid commercial cover with postmark type TP2 to Cockrill with number SF 21 in CDS. Postmarked 18. August 1924 aboard the steamer "Pres. Taft" on her eastbound voyage. Addressed to Santa Clara, California.
Postage due commercial postcard with postmark type TP2 to Cockrill with number SF 22 in CDS. Postmarked 03. December 1924 aboard the steamer "Pres. Pierce" on her westbound voyage. Addressed to San Francisco, Calif.
Postage paid collector's cover with postmark type TP15 to Cockrill. Postmarked 09 November 1931 on board the steamer "Pres. Coolidge." Addressed to Lancaster, PA.
Underfranked collector's cover with postmark type TP35 to Cockrill. Postmarked 24. January 1936 aboard the steamer "Pres. Hoover. Addressed to Philadelphia, Penna.
Postage due commercial postal stationery with type A postmark to Cockrill with the number 15 in the killer. Postmarked 15. January 1928 aboard the steamer "Pres. Monroe" on her westbound voyage. Addressed to San Francisco, California. With forwarding.
Postage due commercial cover with postmark type A to Cockrill with the number 19 in the killer. Postmarked 14. July 1934 aboard the steamer "Pres. Lincoln" on her eastbound voyage. Addressed to London, England.
Overstamped commercial postcard with type A postmark to Cockrill with number 26 in the killer. Postmarked 28 Feb 1926 aboard the steamer "Pres. Harrison" on her westbound voyage. Addressed to Melrose, Mass.
Underfranked collector's cover with type B postmark to Cockrill with number 16. Postmarked 25. January 1930 aboard the steamer "Pres. Cleveland." Addressed to Philadelphia, Pa.
Postage paid airmail special delivery cover with express postmark type D to Cockrill with number 29 in the killer. Postmarked 12. February 1935 aboard the steamer "Pres. Hoover." Addressed to Hampden, Connecticut.
Postage due commercial postcard with postmark type D to Cockrill with the number 30 in the killer. Postmarked 29 June 1934 aboard the steamer "Pres. Coolidge" on her westbound voyage. Addressed to Chambersburg, Penna.
Postage paid collector's cover postmarked "Crossing the 180° Meridian" and stamped type D to Cockrill with the number 30 in the killer. Postmarked XX. June 194X aboard the steamer "Pres. Coolidge". Addressed to Baton Rouge, La.
Postage due commercial postcard with postmark type F(a) to Cockrill. Postmarked 25 May 1933 aboard the steamer "Pres. Lincoln". Addressed to Coye, France.
Underpaid collector's cover with postmark type Fb-TP81 to Cockrill. Postmarked 10. May 1936 aboard the steamer "Pres. Taft". Addressed to Lima, Peru.
Postage paid commercial cover with postmark type G to Cockrill with the number 22 in the killer. Postmarked Sept. 22, 1936 aboard the steamer "Pres. Pierce" on her westbound voyage. Addressed to St. Louis, Miss.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021

US Transpacific Seapost

Aus zwei Gründen ist die Transpacific Seapost die unkomplizierteste der sechs Seapost Services. Wenn eine Nummer einem Schiff zugeordnet wurde, dann blieb diese Nummer auch bei diesem Schiff.Der zweite Grund ist, dass ab 1926 alle Stempel den Namen des Schiffes enthielten.
In den letzten Jahren gab es Meinungsverschiedenheiten über den Beginn dieses Services. Inzwischen ist man sich darüber einig, dass die erste Fahrt das Schiff „President Jackson“ machte, als es am 11.11.1922 Seattle verlies Richtung Manila mit Stopps in Yokohama, Kobe, Shanghai und Hong Kong.Die anderen vier Schiffe sollten allerdings den Betrieb erst im Juli 1923 aufgenommen haben. Es gibt aber einen Brief vom -Schiff „President Grant“ (Seapost Nummer 2) datiert vom 16.01.1923, der diese Theorie anscheinend widerlegt.

Alle fünf Schiffe der „Admiral Oriental Line“ benutzten Stempel des Typs TP1. Die Buchstaben „RMS“ im Killer besagen, dass dieser Service dem „Railway Mail Service“ (Bahnpost) unterstand.
Die Postämter an Bord der Schiffe galten als Inlandspostämter.

Die Geschichte der US Transpacific Seapost Services

Von 1921 an betrieb die „Pacific Steamship Co.“ (die „Admiral Line“) über ihre Tochtergesellschaft „Admiral Oriental Line“ (zunächst benutzte sie auch die Marke „Admiral Line“) fünf "535-feet" liners vom U.S. Shipping Board auf der Route von Seattle in den fernen Osten. Alle fünf Schiffe benutzten den Stempel Typ TP1, welcher auch die Fahrrichtung „East“/“West“ beinhaltete.
Ein regulärer Verkehr von San Francisco, der dieselbe Route befuhr, aber zusätzlich Honolulu, Hawaii anlief, wurde 1924 von der „Pacific Mail Steamship Co.“ für den U.S. Shipping Board betrieben. Diese Schiffe benutzten Stempel des Typs TP2 mit den Buchstaben „SF“ und Nummern von 15 bis 23. Auch diese beinhalteten die Fahrrichtung „East“/“West“. Dieser Stempel beinhaltet im Killer nicht mehr die Buchstaben „RMS“, sodass dieser Dienst nicht der Bahnpost unterstand.

Im Jahr 1924 wurden beide Gesellschaften von der „Dollar Line“ erworben, und die „Admiral Oriental Line“, später umbenannt in „American Mail Line“, und wurde im Jahr 1938 eine Tochtergesellschaft der „American President Lines“, als diese gegründet wurde, um die Geschäfte der bankrotten „Dollar Line“ fortzuführen. Vom Beginn des Jahres 1926 wurde ein regulärer Dienst über den Pazifik eingerichtet, mit zweimonatlichen Abfahrten im Wechsel von Seattle und San Francisco. Im Jahr 1941 endete der Service mit Kriegseintritt der USA in den zweiten Weltkrieg.
Die fünf Schiffe der "Admiral Oriental Line" (Stempel Typ TP1)
  • Nr. 1 - President Jsckson
  • Nr. 2 - President Grant
  • Nr. 3 - President Madison
  • Nr. 4 - Prsident McKinley
  • Nr. 5 - Prsident Jefferson
Die Schiffe der "Pacific Mail Steamship Company" (Stempel Typ TP2)
  • Nr. SF 15 - President Monroe (?)
  • Nr. SF 16 - President Cleveland
  • Nr. SF 17 - President Garfield (?)
  • Nr. SF 18 - Prsident Wilson
  • Nr. SF 19 - Prsident Lincoln
  • Nr. SF 20 - President van Buren
  • Nr. SF 21 - President Taft
  • Nr. SF 22 - President Pierce
  • Nr. SF 23 - President Hayes (?)

Quellen:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54 und No 55
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA

Portogerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ TP1 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 1 im CDS. Gestempelt am 17.04.1924 an Bord des Dampfers „Pres. Jackson“ auf der Fahrt Richtung Osten. Adressiert nach Manila, Philippine Islands. Diese Postkarte befindet sich auf der Rückseite einer Menuekarte.
Rückseite der Bedarfspostkarte mit Menue vom Dinner vom 13.04.1924 und Position des Schiffes an diesem Tag, auf dem Yangtse Kiang.
Portogerecht frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit Stempel Typ TP1 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 2 im CDS. Gestempelt am 20.02.1925 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Grant" auf der Fahrt Richtung Westen. Addressiert nach Tokio, Japan.
Unterfrankierter Bedarfsbrief mit Stempel Typ TP1 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 3 im CDS. Gestempelt am 20.10.1925 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Madison" auf der Fahrt Richtung Osten. Addressiert nach Gillingham, England.
Portogerecht frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit Stempel Typ TP2 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer SF 15 im CDS. Gestempelt am 17.09.1925 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Polk"? auf der Fahrt Richtung Westen. Name des Dampfers steht auf der Rückseite des Briefes, ist aber keine Garantie. Addressiert nach Chicago, Ill.
Portogerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ TP2 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer SF 16 im CDS. Gestempelt am 28.07.1925 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Cleveland" auf der Fahrt Richtung Osten. Addressiert nach Lille, Frankreich.
Portogerecht frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit Stempel Typ TP2 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer SF 21 im CDS. Gestempelt am 18.08.1924 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Taft" auf der Fahrt Richtung Osten. Addressiert nach Santa Clara, California.
Portogerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ TP2 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer SF 22 im CDS. Gestempelt am 03.12.1924 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Pierce" auf der Fahrt Richtung Westen. Addressiert nach San Francisco, Calif.
Portogerecht frankierter Sammlerbrief mit Stempel Typ TP15 nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 09.11.1931 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Coolidge". Addressiert nach Lancaster, PA.
Unterfrankierter Sammlerbrief mit Stempel Typ TP35 nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 24.01.1936 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Hoover. Addressiert nach Philadelphia, Penna.
Portogerechte Bedarfsganzsache mit Stempel Typ A nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 15 im Killer. Gestempelt am 15.01.1928 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Monroe" auf der Fahrt Richtung Westen. Addressiert nach San Francisco, California. Mit Weiterleitung.
Portogerechte frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit Stempel Typ A nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 19 im Killer. Gestempelt am 14.07.1934 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Lincoln" auf der Fahrt Richtung Osten. Addressiert nach London, England.
Überfrankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 26 im Killer. Gestempelt am 28.02.1926 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Harrison" auf der Fahrt Richtung Westen. Addressiert nach Melrose, Mass.
Unterfrankierter Sammlerbrief mit Stempel Typ B nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 16. Gestempelt am 25.01.1930 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Cleveland". Addressiert nach Philadelphia, Pa.
Portogerecht frankierter Luftpost-Bedarfsbrief mit Eilzustellung mit Stempel Typ D nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 29 im Killer. Gestempelt am 12.02.1935 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Hoover". Addressiert nach Hampden, Connecticut.
Portogerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ D nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 30 im Killer. Gestempelt am 29.06.1934 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Coolidge" auf der Fahrt Richtung Westen. Addressiert nach Chambersburg, Penna.
Portogerecht frankierter Sammlerbrief mit Stempel "Crossing the 180° Meridian" und Stempel Typ D nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 30 im Killer. Gestempelt am XX.06.194X an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Coolidge". Addressiert nach Baton Rouge, La.
Portogerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ F(a) nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 25.05.1933 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Lincoln". Addressiert nach Coye, Frankreich.
Unterfrankierter Sammlerbrief mit Stempel Typ Fb-TP81 nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 10.05.1936 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Taft". Addressiert nach Lima, Peru.
Portogerecht frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit Stempel Typ G nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 22 im Killer. Gestempelt am 22.09.1936 an Bord des Dampfers "Pres. Pierce" auf der Fahrt Richtung Westen. Addressiert nach St. Louis, Miss.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021