US British Seapost

The joint service "US British Seapost" existed from May 10, 1905 until August 25, 1914, when it ended due to the outbreak of World War I and the British participation. However, it was continued by the USA alone until 1917, when they entered the war.
It consisted of seven White Star Line ships and four United States Line ships.
British and American postal employees worked in the on-board post office. The American ones on the voyages to Europe, the British ones on the voyages to the USA.

The ships of the US Line used stamps with the numbers 1 to 4 in the killer. I show here only covers with the postmarks of the American ships.
  • Nr. 1 - S.S. New York
  • Nr. 2 - S.S. Paris (umbenannt in Philadelphia 1902)
  • Nr. 3 - S.S. St. Louis
  • Nr. 4 - S.S. St. Paul


Accoding to Cockrill Booklet No 54
Source reference:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54 und No 55
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA

Overstamped commercial postcard with postmark type A4 to Cockrill with number 1 in the killer. Postmarked on XX. May 1907 aboard the American Line steamer "New York". Addressed to East Oakland, Calif.
Overstamped commercial postcard with type A4 postmark to Cockrill with the number 2 in the killer. Postmarked 03 Jun 1914 aboard the American Line steamer "Philadelphia". Addressed to Bridgen, N.J., forwarded to Brooklyn, N.Y.
Overstamped commercial postcard with type A4 postmark to Cockrill with number 3 in the killer. Postmarked 23. March 1912? on board the steamer "St. Louis" of the American Line. Addressed to San Francisco, Calif.
Overstamped commercial postcard with type A4 postmark to Cockrill with the number 4 in the killer. Postmarked Aug. 10, 1907 aboard the American Line steamer "St. Paul." Addressed to Edgewater, N.J.
As required franked commercial postcard with type A4 postmark to Cockrill with the number 4 in the killer. Postmarked Dec. 22, 1910 aboard the American Line steamer "St. Paul." Addressed to West Lym, Mass.
Overstamped commercial postcard with type A4 postmark to Cockrill with the number 4 in the killer. Postmarked April 24, 1914 aboard the American Line steamer "St. Paul". Addressed to New York, N.Y., forwarded to Milford, Conn.
As-needed postcard with postmark type A4 to Cockrill with the number 4 in the killer. Postmarked 02/20/.XXXX at Callao, Peru, (reverse side) accidentally caught aboard American Line steamer "St. Paul" and postmarked "missent" there. Addressed to Weymouth, Nova Scotia, Canada.


Copyright J├╝rgen Kuseler 2021

US British Seapost

Der gemeinsame Dienst "US British Seapost" bestand vonm 10. Mai 1905 bis zum 25. August 1914. Er endete zu diesem Datum wegen dem Ausbruch des 1. Weltkrieges und der britischen Beteiligung. Er wurde allerdings bis 1917 von den USA alleine weitergeführt bis deren Kriegseintritt.
Er bestand aus sieben Schiffen der White Star Line und vier der United States Line.
Im Bordpostamt arbeiteten britische und amerikanische Postbedienstete. Die amerikanischen auf den Fahrten nach Europa, die britischen auf den Fahrten nach den USA.

Die Schiffe der US Line nutzten Stempel mit den Nummern 1 bis 4 im Killer. Ich zeige hier nur Belege mit den Stempeln der amerikanischen Schiffe.
  • Nr. 1 - S.S. New York
  • Nr. 2 - S.S. Paris (umbenannt in Philadelphia 1902)
  • Nr. 3 - S.S. St. Louis
  • Nr. 4 - S.S. St. Paul


Nach Cockrill Booklet No 54
Quellen:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54 und No 55
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA

Überfrankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A4 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 1 im Killer. Gestempelt am XX.05.1907 an Bord des Dampfers „New York“ der American Line. Adressiert nach East Oakland, Calif.
Überfrankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A4 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 2 im Killer. Gestempelt am 03.06.1914 an Bord des Dampfers „Philadelphia“ der American Line. Adressiert nach Bridgen, N.J., weitergeleitet nach Brooklyn, N.Y.
Überfrankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A4 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 3 im Killer. Gestempelt am 23.03.1912? an Bord des Dampfers „St. Louis“ der American Line. Adressiert nach San Francisco, Calif.
Überfrankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A4 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 4 im Killer. Gestempelt am 10.08.1907 an Bord des Dampfers „St. Paul“ der American Line. Adressiert nach Edgewater, N.J.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A4 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 4 im Killer. Gestempelt am 22.12.1910 an Bord des Dampfers „St. Paul“ der American Line. Adressiert nach West Lym, Mass.
Überfrankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A4 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 4 im Killer. Gestempelt am 24.04.1914 an Bord des Dampfers „St. Paul“ der American Line. Adressiert nach New York, N.Y., weitergeleitet nach Milford, Conn.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A4 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 4 im Killer. Gestempelt am 20.02.XXXX in Callao, Peru, (Rückseite) versehentlich an Bord Dampfers „St. Paul“ der American Line geraten und dort mit "missent" gestempelt. Adressiert nach Weymouth, Nova Scotia, Canada.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021