US French Seapost

The joint maritime mail service on the New York to Le Havre route began in 1912 and lasted until the U.S. entered World War I in 1917. It consisted of ten French Line ships, and no U.S. ships. French and American postal employees worked in the on-board post office. The American ones on the voyages to Europe, the French ones on the voyages to the USA.
Due to the activities of the German U-boats, the port of call in France was transferred from Le Havre to Bordeaux in 1915.
There was a brief experimental sea mail service in 1909, which was discontinued the same year.
  • Nr. 21 - S.S. Touraine - 1912, 1915, 1916
  • Nr. 22 - S.S. Lorraine - 1912, 1914
  • Nr. 22- S.S. Chicago - 1915
  • Nr. 23 - S.S. Savoie - 1912
  • Nr. 23 - S.S. Touraine - 1912
  • Nr. 23 - S.S. Espagne - 1917
  • Nr. 24 - S.S. Provence - 1912-14, 1917
  • Nr. 24 - S.S. Rochambeau - 1915-17
  • Nr. 25 - S.S. France - 1912-14
  • Nr. 25 - S.S. Chicago - 1916
  • Nr. 26 - S.S. Espagne - 1912, 1916
  • Nr. 26 - S.S. Niagara - 1915


According to Hosking, "Seaposts of the USA"

Source reference:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54 und No 55
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA


Postage paid standard postcard with postmark type A6 to Cockrill. Postmarked on June 18, 1913 aboard the steamer "La Provence" on the voyage from New York to Le Havre. The number in the killer cannot be seen, but it is supposed to be number 24.
Overstamped foreign demand postcard with postmark type A6 to Cockrill. Postmarked on March 06, 1913 aboard the steamer "France" on the voyage from New York to Le Havre. The number in the killer is the 25.
Reverse: handwritten date February 27, 1913.
Unstamped commercial postcard with postmark type A6 to Cockrill. Postmarked 12. June 1913 on board the steamer "La Provence" on the voyage from New York to Le Havre. The number in the killer is a 24.

Why this postcard has no franking and no postage paid impression, but a boarding cancel, I can only explain that the sender was on his way to Le Havre and the card is addressed there. I assume that he handed it over personally and did not send it by mail, but had an imprint of the boarding postmark given to him.


Copyright J├╝rgen Kuseler 2021

US French Seapost

Der gemeinsame Seepost-Dienst auf der Strecke New York nach Le Havre begann im Jahre 1912 und dauerte bis zum Eintritt der USA in den ersten Weltkrieg im Jahre 1917. Er bestand aus zehn Schiffen der "French Line", und keinen US Schiffen. Im Bordpostamt arbeiteten französische und amerikanische Postbedienstete. Die amerikanischen auf den Fahrten nach Europa, die französischen auf den Fahrten nach den USA.
Durch die Aktivitäten der deutschen U-Boote wurde der in Frankreich angelaufene Hafen im Jahre 1915 von Le Havre nach Bordeaux verlegt.
Es gab im Jahre 1909 einen kurzen experimentellen Seepost-Dienst, der im selben Jahr wieder eingestellt wurde.
  • Nr. 21 - S.S. Touraine - 1912, 1915, 1916
  • Nr. 22 - S.S. Lorraine - 1912, 1914
  • Nr. 22- S.S. Chicago - 1915
  • Nr. 23 - S.S. Savoie - 1912
  • Nr. 23 - S.S. Touraine - 1912
  • Nr. 23 - S.S. Espagne - 1917
  • Nr. 24 - S.S. Provence - 1912-14, 1917
  • Nr. 24 - S.S. Rochambeau - 1915-17
  • Nr. 25 - S.S. France - 1912-14
  • Nr. 25 - S.S. Chicago - 1916
  • Nr. 26 - S.S. Espagne - 1912, 1916
  • Nr. 26 - S.S. Niagara - 1915


Nach Hosking, "Seaposts of the USA"

Quellen:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54 und No 55
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA


Portogerecht frankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A6 nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 18.06.1913 an Bord des Dampfers „La Provence“ auf der Fahrt von New York nach Le Havre. Die Nummer im Killer ist nicht zu erkennen, es soll aber die Nummer 24 sein.
Überfrankierte Auslands-Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A6 nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 06.03.1913 an Bord des Dampfers „France“ auf der Fahrt von New York nach Le Havre. Die Nummer im Killer ist die 25.
Rückseite: Handschriftliches Datum 27.02.1913.
Unfrankierte Bedarfspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A6 nach Cockrill. Gestempelt am 12.06.1913 an Bord des Dampfers „La Provence“ auf der Fahrt von New York nach Le Havre. Die Nummer im Killer ist eine 24.

Warum diese Postkarte keine Frankatur hat und kein Nachportovermerk, aber einen Bordstempel, kann ich mir nur so erklären, dass der Absender ja auf der Fahrt nach Le Havre war und die Karte nach dort adressiert ist. Ich vermute, er hat sie persönlich übergeben und nicht mit der Post verschickt, hat sich aber einen Abdruck des Bordstempels geben lassen.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021