US RPO Clerk Cancel

History of the RPO

The railroad post office was introduced in the United States on July 28, 1862, using converted baggage cars from the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad (which also delivered the first letter to the Pony Express). A few weeks after the service was introduced, custom-built Railway Post Office (RPO) cars were put into service. Their purpose was to separate the mail for connection with a westbound stagecoach, which departed shortly after the train arrived in St. Joseph. This service lasted about a year. The first permanent railroad post office route was established on August 28, 1864, between Chicago, Illinois, and Clinton, Iowa. This service differed from the 1862 operation in that the mail was was sorted to and received from each post office along the route, as well as the larger post offices beyond the terminus of the route.

The Railway Mail Service organization within the Post Office Department existed from 1864 until September 30, 1948. It was renamed the Postal Transportation Service on October 1, 1948, and existed until 1960. After 1960, management of the Railway Mail Routes, as well as the Highway Post Office Routes, Air Mail Facility, Terminal Railway Post Office, and Transfer Office, was transferred to the Bureau of Transportation.

RPO Clerk cancel

Each RPO clerk was required to have his or her own "dater," usually a rubber stamp showing name, work location, train/travel/tour number (abbreviated "TR") and the date were indicated.
The main purpose of these stamps was to mark cover sheets (used for bundles of mail) or bag labels so that one's work could be traced in case of errors. Occasionally, these markings also appear on the back of special delivery or registered envelopes, indicating that the clerk performed the distribution of that mailpiece.

They were sometimes used as postmarks, or for the convenience of the scribe when marking a missing or temporary piece of mail.

Since each scribe had his own handstamps or sets of them and paid for them himself, there are literally tens of thousands of them and they are not listed in the RPO catalog except as indicated in the preface to the catalog, nor could there ever be a comprehensive listing of them.

Source references:

http://www.tpo-seapost.org.uk/tpo2/tpusarpo.html
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Railway_post_office
Rick Kunz, Vice-President, Mobile Post Office Society

Supplement and new findings

Based on my research so far, I have come to the conclusion that one must divide the use of these "Clerk Daters" into two areas.
First, the documents, forms, packing slips, etc. that had to be filled out. The 1887 regulations state that the RPO officials were allowed or expected to use these private stamps for this purpose.
Second are the mandatory "backstamps" on registered and special delivery mail. These were to be used according to "Postal Buletin February 23, 1924" to be postmarked with the "Receiving Postmark of the Office" and not with the private postmarks.
That the private cancels were also used there is undeniable based on the available covers. The private cancels must have been used very early. This is proven by a letter with advertising for these stamps, whose origin I can no longer trace.



Quellen:

VOL. XLV. THE POSTAL BULLETIN, WASHINGTON, FEBRUARY 23, 1924 - Page 2. NO. 13401 POSTMASTER . Presidential. February 15, 1924. Special delivery of mail. ORDER NO. 192. OFFICE OF THE POSTMASTER GENERAL, Washington, February 23, 1924.
Regulations from 1887 - CHAPTER THIRTY-EIGHT. - THE HAHDLING OF REGISTERED MATTER BY RAIL-WAY POSTAL CLERKS.

Postage paid commercial cover with "Special Delivery". Postmarked Dec. 10, 1930, at Rochester, N.Y. Addressed to Somerville, New Jersey.
Reverse: Somerville arrival roll postmark dated 11. December 1930. Also postmarked by an RPO Clerk with route "N.Y.. & CHI" and train number 4 dated 11. December 1930. Clerk's name: E. D. Crouse.
The RPO Clerk's stamp.
Postage paid commercial cover with "Special Delivery". Postmark not legible, return address Newhall, Maine. Addressed to Pasadena, Calif.
Back: RPO postmark of route "N.Y. & Chicago" dated 09. July 1931. Arrival postmark from Pasadena dated 24. July 1931. Also postmark of an RPO Clerk with route "PORTLAND & N.Y." and train number 2 dated 20. July 1931. Clerk's Name: C. E. Fickett.
The RPO Clerk's stamp.
Postage paid "Special Delivery" airmail cover with Los Angeles postmark dated June 01, 1935. Addressed to Arkadelphia, Arkansas.
Reverse: postmark of "AIR MAIL FIELD" (probably Fort Worth, Texas) dated 02 June 1935. Arrival postmark of Arkadelphia dated 02 June 1935. Also postmark of a RPO Clerk with route "L. ROCK & FT. WORTH" and train number 2 dated 02. June 1935. Clerk's Name: EARLE DAWSON.
The RPO Clerk's stamp.
Postage paid airmail cover (postal stationery) with "Special Delivery" postmark from Dexter, Maine dated Aug. 09, 1938. Addressed to Columbus, Ohio.
Reverse: postmark of the "AIR MAIL FIELD" in Cleveland, Ohio dated 10. August 1938. Arrival postmark of Columbus, Ohio dated August 10, 1938. Also postmark of a RPO Clerk with route "VANCE & BOS. S.D." and train number 22 dated August 09, 1938. Clerk's name: A. V. STOLPE.
The RPO Clerk's stamp.
Postage paid commercial cover with "Special Delivery" postmark from Lynchburg, VA. dated June 26, 1938. Addressed to Richmond, VA.
Reverse: arrival postmark of Richmond, VA. dated June 27, 1938. Also postmark of an RPO Clerk with route "COL. & NORF. E.D." and train number 16 dated June 27, 1938. Clerk's name: only partially readable.
The RPO Clerk's stamp.
Postage paid "Special Delivery" airmail cover with postmark from Highland Park, Mich. dated Sept. 21, 1937. Addressed to York, Penna.
Reverse: arrival postmark of Detroit, Mich. dated September 21, 1937 and arrival postmark of York, PA. dated September 22 (1937). Also, postmark of an RPO Clerk with route "N.Y.. & PITTS." and train number 39 dated September 21, 1937. Clerk's name: A. W. ZUCK.
The RPO Clerk's stamp.
Postage paid registered cover from Lake Mary, Florida dated 09/18/1946 addressed to Richmond, Va.
Reverse: Stamp of the "Registry Division" of Lake Mary, Florida. Also stamp of RPO Clerk's "M. S. WHITEHEAD" with route "JACK. & TAMPA" and train number 92 dated 09/18/1946.
The RPO Clerk's stamp.
Copyright J├╝rgen Kuseler 2021

US RPO Clerk Cancel

Geschichte der RPO

Das Eisenbahnpostamt wurde in den Vereinigten Staaten am 28. Juli 1862 eingeführt, und zwar mit umgebauten Gepäckwagen der Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad (die auch den ersten Brief an den Pony Express zustellte). Wenige Wochen nach der Einführung des Dienstes wurden auf dieser Strecke speziell angefertigte Railway Post Office (RPO)-Wagen in Betrieb genommen. Ihr Zweck war es, die Post für die Verbindung mit einer westwärts fahrenden Postkutsche zu trennen, die kurz nach der Ankunft des Zuges in St. Joseph abfuhr. Dieser Dienst dauerte etwa ein Jahr. Die erste permanente Railway-Post-Office-Strecke wurde am 28. August 1864 zwischen Chicago, Illinois, und Clinton, Iowa, eingerichtet. Dieser Dienst unterscheidet sich vom Betrieb von 1862, weil die Post zu jedem Postamt entlang der Strecke sowie zu den größeren Postämtern jenseits der Endpunkte der Strecke sortiert und von dort empfangen wurde.

Die Organisation Railway Mail Service innerhalb des Post Office Department bestand von 1864 bis zum 30. September 1948. Sie wurde am 1. Oktober 1948 in "Postal Transportation Service" umbenannt und bestand bis 1960. Nach 1960 wurde die Verwaltung der Bahnpostrouten sowie der Highway Post Office Routen, der Air Mail Facility, des Terminal Railway Post Office und des Transfer Office in das Bureau of Transportation verlagert.

RPO Clerk cancel

Jeder RPO-Sachbearbeiter musste seinen eigenen "Dater" haben, normalerweise einen Gummistempel, auf dem der Name, der Arbeitsort, die Zug-/Reise-/Tournummer (abgekürzt "TR") und das Datum angegeben waren.
Der Hauptzweck dieser Stempel war die Kennzeichnung von Deckblättern (die für Postbündel verwendet wurden) oder Beuteletiketten, damit seine Arbeit im Falle von Fehlern nachvollzogen werden konnte. Gelegentlich erscheinen diese Markierungen auch auf der Rückseite von Sonderzustellungs- oder Einschreibeumschlägen und zeigen an, dass der Sachbearbeiter die Verteilung dieses Poststücks durchgeführt hat.

Sie wurden manchmal als Poststempel verwendet, oder aus Bequemlichkeit des Schreibers, wenn er ein fehlendes oder vorübergehendes Poststück markierte.

Da jeder Schreiber seine eigenen Handstempel oder Sätze davon hatte und sie selbst bezahlte, gibt es buchstäblich Zehntausende davon und sie sind im RPO-Katalog nicht aufgeführt, außer im Vorwort des Katalogs angegeben, noch könnte es jemals eine umfassende Auflistung von ihnen geben.

Quellen:

http://www.tpo-seapost.org.uk/tpo2/tpusarpo.html
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Railway_post_office
Rick Kunz, Vice-President, Mobile Post Office Society

Nachtrag und neue Erkenntnisse

Aufgrund meiner bisherigen Recherchen bin ich zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass man die Verwendung dieser "Clerk Daters" in zwei Bereiche unterteilen muss.
Erstens, die Dokumente, Formulare, Packzettel usw., die ausgefüllt werden mussten. In den Verordnungen von 1887 heißt es, dass die RPO-Beamten diese Privatstempel zu diesem Zweck verwenden durften oder sollten.
Zweitens sind die obligatorischen "Backstamps" auf den Einschreiben und Eilbriefen zu nennen. Diese sollten laut "Postal Buletin February 23, 1924" mit dem "Eingangsstempel des Amtes" und nicht mit den Privatstempeln gestempelt werden.
Dass die Privatstempel auch dort verwendet wurden, ist aufgrund der vorhandenen Belege nicht zu leugnen. Die Privatstempel müssen schon sehr früh zum Einsatz gekommen sein. Das beweist ein Brief mit Werbung für diese Stempel, dessen Herkunft ich nicht mehr nachvollziehen kann.



Quellen:

VOL. XLV. THE POSTAL BULLETIN, WASHINGTON, 23. FEBRUAR 1924 - Seite 2. NO. 13401 BEVOLLMÄCHTIGTE POSTMEISTER . Presidential. 15. Februar 1924. Eilzustellung von Post. ORDER NO. 192. OFFICE OF THE POSTMASTER GENERAL, Washington, 23. Februar 1924.
Regulations from 1887 - CHAPTER THIRTY-EIGHT. - THE HAHDLING OF REGISTERED MATTER BY RAIL-WAY POSTAL CLERKS.

Portogerecht frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit "Special Delivery". Gestempelt am 10.12.1930 in Rochester, N.Y. Adressiert nach Somerville, New Jersey.
Rückseite: Ankunftsrollenstempel von Somerville vom 11.12.1930. Außerdem Stempel eines RPO Clerks mit Route "N.Y. & CHI" und der Zugnummer 4 vom 11.12.1930. Name des Clerks: E. D. Crouse.
Der Stempel des RPO Clerks.
Portogerecht frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit "Special Delivery". Stempel nicht lesbar, Absenderadresse Newhall, Maine. Adressiert nach Pasadena, Calif.
Rückseite: RPO-Stempel der Route "N.Y. & Chicago" vom 09.07.1931. Ankunftsstempel von Pasadena vom 24.07.1931. Außerdem Stempel eines RPO Clerks mit Route "PORTLAND & N.Y." und der Zugnummer 2 vom 20.07.1931. Name des Clerks: C. E. Fickett.
Der Stempel des RPO Clerks.
Portogerecht frankierter Luftpost-Bedarfsbrief mit "Special Delivery" mit Stempel von Los Angeles vom 01.06.1935. Adressiert nach Arkadelphia, Arkansas.
Rückseite: Stempel des "AIR MAIL FIELD" (wahrscheinlich Fort Worth, Texas) vom 02.06.1935. Ankunftsstempel von Arkadelphia vom 02.06.1935. Außerdem Stempel eines RPO Clerks mit Route "L. ROCK & FT. WORTH" und der Zugnummer 2 vom 02.06.1935. Name des Clerks: EARLE DAWSON.
Der Stempel des RPO Clerks.
Portogerecht frankierter Luftpost-Bedarfsbrief (Ganzsache) mit "Special Delivery" mit Stempel von Dexter, Maine vom 09.08.1938. Adressiert nach Columbus, Ohio.
Rückseite: Stempel des "AIR MAIL FIELD" in Cleveland, Ohio vom 10.08.1938. Ankunftsstempel von Columbus, Ohio vom 10.08.1938. Außerdem Stempel eines RPO Clerks mit Route "VANCE & BOS. S.D." und der Zugnummer 22 vom 09.08.1938. Name des Clerks: A. V. STOLPE.
Der Stempel des RPO Clerks.
Portogerecht frankierter Bedarfsbrief mit "Special Delivery" mit Stempel von Lynchburg, VA. vom 26.06.1938. Adressiert nach Richmond, VA.
Rückseite: Ankunftsstempel von Richmond, VA. vom 27.06.1938. Außerdem Stempel eines RPO Clerks mit Route "COL. & NORF. E.D." und der Zugnummer 16 vom 27.06.1938. Name des Clerks: nur teilweise lesbar.
Der Stempel des RPO Clerks.
Portogerecht frankierter Luftpost-Bedarfsbrief mit "Special Delivery" mit Stempel von Highland Park, Mich. vom 21.09.1937. Adressiert nach York, Penna.
Rückseite: Ankunftsstempel von Detroit, Mich. vom 21.09.1937 und Ankunftsstempel von York, PA. vom 22.09 (1937). Außerdem Stempel eines RPO Clerks mit Route "N.Y. & PITTS." und der Zugnummer 39 vom 21.09.1937. Name des Clerks: A. W. ZUCK.
Der Stempel des RPO Clerks.
Portogerecht frankiertes Einschreiben von Lake Mary, Florida vom 18.09.1946. Adressiert nach Richmond, Va.
Rückseite: Stempel der "Registry Division" von Lake Mary, Florida. Außerdem Stempel des RPO Clerks "M. S. WHITEHEAD" mit Route "JACK. & TAMPA" und der Zugnummer 92 vom 18.09.1946.
Der Stempel des RPO Clerks.
Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021