US Transatlantic Seapost 1926 - 1931

In 1926, three new ships joined the "US Sea Post" service.
They were given postmarks with the ship's name in the CDS and a number in the killer, as before:
  • No. 6 - MINNEKAHDA 1926 to 1930
  • No. 10 - LEVIATHAN (Ex VATERLAND) 1926 to 1928
  • No. 15 - REPUBLIC 1927 to 17. August 1931
The ships "MINNEKAHDA" and "LEVIATHAN" also sailed in the joint service of the "US German Sea Post".

The "S.S. LEVIATHAN", as the largest ship in the world, was so popular with German and American passengers, which resulted in a high volume of letters being mailed on board. Therefore, a Stamping machine was installed with two postmarks, one for the eastbound route (Type 15) and one for the westbound route (Type 15A)(see illustration).


To Cockrill, Booklet No. 54

The "LEVIATHAN" was taken out of service from August 1933 to June 1934, after which she made only five round trips and was then taken out of service again due to the "Great Depression" and finally laid up in September 1934.

Source references:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA


Overstamped domestic postcard with postmark type A14 to Cockrill with the number 6 in the killer. Postmarked April 23, 1928 aboard the steamer "MINNEKAHDA." Addressed to Middleport, N.Y.
Foreign postcard franked as required with postmark type A14 to Cockrill with the number 15 in the killer. Postmarked July 10, 1927 aboard the steamer "REPUBLIC". Addressed to Brazil.
As required franked domestic cover, collector's cover, with machine cancel type 15 to Cockrill with number 10 in the CDS. Postmarked on 01 August 1927 aboard the steamer "LEVIATHAN". Addressed to Washington, D.C.
Foreign cover franked as required, the CDS says "US German S.P.O.". This means on the way to New York and thus a German Post Office. Cancelled with machine cancel type 15A to Cockrill without number. Postmarked on 08 May 1930 aboard the steamer "LEVIATHAN". Addressed to Brooklyn, N.Y.


Copyright J├╝rgen Kuseler 2021

US Transatlantic Seapost 1926 - 1931

Im Jahr 1926 kamen drei neue Schiffe zum "US Sea Post" Service.
Sie bekamen Stempel mit dem Namen des Schiffes im CDS und einer Nummer im Killer, wie bisher:
  • Nr. 6 - MINNEKAHDA 1926 bis 1930
  • Nr. 10 - LEVIATHAN (Ex VATERLAND) 1926 bis 1928
  • Nr. 15 - REPUBLIC 1927 bis 17.08.1931
Die Schiffe "MINNEKAHDA" und "LEVIATHAN" fuhren auch im Gemeinschaftsdienst der "US German Sea Post".

Die "S.S. LEVIATHAN", als das größte Schiff der Welt, war so beliebt bei Deutschen und Amerikanischen Passagieren, wodurch ein hohes Aufkommen an Briefen, die an Bord verschickt wurden, zu verzeichnen war. Daher wurden eine Stempelmaschine installiert mit zwei Stempeln, einen für die Route ostwärts (Typ 15) und einen für die Route westwärts (Typ 15A)(siehe Abbildung).

Nach Cockrill, Booklet No. 54

Die "LEVIATHAN" wurde von August 1933 bis Juni 1934 aus dem Service genommen. danach machte sie nur noch fünf Rundfahrten und wurde dann wegen der "Großen Depression" wieder aus dem Dienst genommen und im September 1934 endgültig aufgelegt.

Quellen:

Cockrill, Booklett No 54
Hosking, Seaposts of the USA


Überfrankierte Inlandspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A14 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 6 im Killer. Gestempelt am 23. April 1928 an Bord des Dampfers "MINNEKAHDA". Adressiert nach Middleport, N.Y..
Bedarfsgerecht frankierte Auslandspostkarte mit Stempel Typ A14 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 15 im Killer. Gestempelt am 10. Juli 1927 an Bord des Dampfers "REPUBLIC". Adressiert nach Brasilien.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Inlandsbrief, Sammlerbeleg, mit Maschinenstempel Typ 15 nach Cockrill mit der Nummer 10 im CDS. Gestempelt am 01. August 1927 an Bord des Dampfers "LEVIATHAN". Adressiert nach Washington, D.C.
Bedarfsgerecht frankierter Auslandsbrief, im CDS steht "US German S.P.O.". Das bedeutet auf der Fahrt nach New York und damit ein Deutsches Postamt. Gestempelt mit Maschinenstempel Typ 15A nach Cockrill ohne Nummer. Gestempelt am 08. Mai 1930 an Bord des Dampfers "LEVIATHAN". Adressiert nach Brooklyn, N.Y.


Copyright Jürgen Kuseler 2021